WCPL Internship Day 39

August 2nd, 2017 – Wednesdaycard39

Original Schedule

9:00 am – 10:00 am – Teen Weeding

10:00 am – 1:00 pm – Wrap-up with Shelly

Revised Schedule

9:00 am – 10:00 am – Teen Weeding

10:00 am – 12:00 pm – Off-site Storytime with Jo

12:00 pm – 1:00 pm – Wrap-up with Shelly

9:00 am – 10:00 am

I finish weeding the Teen Fiction and put them behind the children’s desk to be stamped and then taken to Loretta.  I got some pictures of the library to share.

20170802_101124
One of the pages used for teen weeding. There are notes Shelly made for me about whether she wanted the whole series pulled, or if something was “claims returned”

10:00 am – 12:00 pm

Jo and I head out to Fresh Thyme for her storytime. She does this once a month in the Summer. Once we get to Fresh Thyme we look for her contact there, this time it’s the manager assistant, Kelly. He’s very helpful and Jo lets him know that she thinks she’ll be ready for the snack (it’s Pizza storytime) around 11:30. Jo shows me the agenda, she’ll do a song, story, song and manipulative, book, and then song to end it. She has such a great storytime put together. Fresh Thyme always comes up with a food theme and Jo finds books to match it as well as coming up with songs that she’s changed the words too.

12:00 pm – 1:00 pm

Back at the library, Shelly and I go over the evaluation that she filled out. She said that I was excellent and did a great job. She thought I worked well on my own and independently when working on a task. We discussed whether or not WCPL fulfilled my objectives, I believe it did. In a way, it taught me things I did not expect to learn.

 

Leave a Reply

